DeLand Family Law & Criminal Defense Attorneys
Two Decades of Collective Legal Experience Handling Cases in DeLand, Daytona Beach & West Volusia, FL

BUI in DeLand

Since Florida has 1,350 miles of general coastline and another 8,436 miles comprised on other bodies of water, such as bays, creeks, rivers, and offshore islands, many residents and visitors alike take to the high seas to enjoy boating. Unfortunately, the state is the national leader in annual fatal boating accidents, often caused by inexperience, inattention, excessive speed, and alcohol.

Since alcohol can impair your judgment and awareness, resulting in issues operating and navigating a vehicle, boating under the influence (BUI)—just like driving under the influence (DUI). This means anyone who operates a watercraft with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08 percent can be charged with BUI in Florida.

A first offense is generally charged as a second-degree misdemeanor, which carries a maximum six-month jail term and a fine not exceeding $1,000. If a person’s BAC was .15 percent or more, or a child was a passenger on the watercraft, the penalties increase to a jail sentence of up to nine months and up to $2,000 in fines.

If a first offense involves an accident or minor injuries, it is a first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year and fines not more than $1,000. If a first offense involves serious bodily harm, it is a third-degree felony, which can lead a maximum five-year prison term and fines of up to $5,000 upon conviction.

If a first offense involves death, it is either a first- or second-degree felony. The former carries a prison term of up to 30 years, while the latter is punishable by a prison sentence of up to 15 years. Each offense also leads to $10,000 in fines.

If you have been charged with a BUI in DeLand, contact Buckmaster & Ellzey today at (888) 222-1679 and schedule an initial consultation.

Categories: